

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

March 6, 2009

Hugh Downs,
Chairman
Mark Albrecht
Buzz Aldrin
Robert Allnutt
Norman R. Augustine

Lance Bass Howard Bloom Frank Borman Ben Bova Bruce Boxleitner

Dan Brandenstein Tom Cruise K. Eric Drexler Art Dula

Freeman Dyson Edward G. Finch Don Fugua

Newt Gingrich Peter Glaser John Glenn

Tom Hanks

Barbara Marx Hubbard

Mark Jannot Edwin Jones Lon Levin John Lewis

James Lovell Robert McCall

Marvin Minsky Kenneth Money

Nichelle Nichols

Frederick I. Ordway III Scott Pace

Harrison Schmitt Michael Simpson Anthony Tether

Maria von Braun Simon "Pete" Worden

1155 15th Street, NW SUITE 500 WASHINGTON, D.C. 20005

202.429.1600 202.530.0659 FAX www.nss.org Mr. Peter Kokh 1630 North 32nd St. Milwaukee, WI 53208-2040

Dear Mr. Kokh

On behalf of the National Space Society, I am both pleased and honored to officially inform you that you have been selected as the 2009 recipient of the National Space Society's Gerard K. O'Neill Memorial Award for Space Settlement Advocacy. The award will be presented to you at the 2009 International Space Development Conference, (the ISDC), in Orlando, Florida, May 28-31, 2009, held at at the Omni Orlando Resort at ChampionsGate. The award may be presented at our Gala Dinner on Friday evening, May 29.

This award recognizes your exhaustive coverage of possible Lunar (and also Mars and in-space) settlements, the vehicles to access them and the technology needed to sustain them economically. This, along with your coverage of other related topics, has contributed an enormous amount of ideas and discussion about space settlement. The total number and volume of your specific concepts and topics covered probably rivals or exceeds that of virtually anyone else in the world. The vision of self-sustaining human settlements, in space and on planetary surfaces, and as part of a free, spacefaring civilization, is at the very heart of the space movement. Few have made such a rich contribution to this field.

This is the third O'Neill award. It has previously been presented to Dr. Harrison H. Schmitt, the former Senator and Apollo 17 Astronaut, in 2007, and Dr. John H. Marburger, a presidential science advisor, in 2008. The award consists of a representation of an O'Neill "Island One" or Bernal Sphere type space colony as Dr. O'Neill envisioned it, on a base inlaid with black granite and with a brass plaque. It represents future colonies, both in space and on planetary surfaces. The award was created and cast in brass by Michael Hall, a renowned artist, sculptor and foundryman, owner of the Studio Foundry in Driftwood, TX.

Awards recognizing significant contributions by individuals and organizations have been presented at our International Space Development Conferences since 1983. The Society has three other major awards: the Robert A. Heinlein Memorial award, the Wernher von Braun Memorial Award, and the Space Pioneer awards.

On behalf of the NSS Awards Committee, please accept our heartiest congratulations on being the recipient of the 2009 O'Neill Award. Please feel free to contact me if you have questions.

Sincerely,

John K. Strickland, Jr, NSS Awards Committee Chair jkstrick@io.com

John K. Strickland, /

The National Space Society is an independent, international, educational, grassroots, nonprofit and non-partisan organization devoted to the creation of a free spacefaring civilization. It supports the exploration, development and utilization of space for the benefit of mankind. The NSS has more than 22,000 members and 50 chapters worldwide. It was founded by the 1986 merger of the National Space Institute, founded in 1974 by Dr. Wernher Von Braun, and the L-5 Society, founded in 1975. NSS Policy documents can be located at http://NSS.org. Call NSS Headquarters at 202-429-1600 for more information on the NSS.